Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 54
  1. #1
    The ill-advised world music album
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    the Thames Delta..
    Posts
    3,191

    Default Music Ground - they're at it again...

    if these pics are what they seem to be theyve got a lot of explaining to do......again.....

    http://acapella.harmony-central.com/....php?t=2680027

    At least theyre not Marshalls this time....
    Don't let somebody elses world make yours unhappy...

  2. #2
    The comeback tour
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Berkshire
    Posts
    5,416

    Default

    How comes they're not being sued then?
    Quote Originally Posted by english_bob View Post
    If a Telecaster doesn't work with their music, it's because the music is shit.

  3. #3
    The ill-advised world music album
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    the Thames Delta..
    Posts
    3,191

    Default

    I wish I knew even how they are still trading, but if you google musicground fakes youll have couple of days reading on your hands...
    Don't let somebody elses world make yours unhappy...

  4. #4
    The ill-advised world music album
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    The Greta Garbo Home for Wayward Boys and Girls
    Posts
    2,846

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mattbanshee View Post
    How comes they're not being sued then?
    Good question. I know that when caught out, they require the victim to agree not to disclose the fakery details before they get their money back. A good friend of mine (in Europe) was conned, and I really wanted to help him go after MG via Trading Standards, but he just wanted to get his money back and get on.

    By the way, if you ever see a vintage Marshall combo or speaker cab with brown pinstripe grille cloth (like the one MG had on their stand at the Veenendal show a few years back), be especially suspicious.

    Last edited by loverocker; 8th October 2010 at 02:51 PM. Reason: spelling
    Don't let your mind wander - one day it won't come back.

  5. #5
    The rehab years
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    1,477

    Default

    As I've just posted on HCFX...

    One of the pictures below sparks the interest:





    if you look closely at the grey filing box in the top left, there's three words written then. One of those words is 'JMI' ie. the name owned by Music Ground. Coincidental? :thu:

  6. #6
    Banned
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    7,995

    Default

    I don't see JMI anywhere.... I'm either blind, or not looking in the right place!

  7. #7
    Difficult second album
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    759

    Default

    I've met a guy who claims he built most of the 50's and 60's Strats thney sold in the late 80's. He might be lying, but he said he had originals to work from.

  8. #8
    The ill-advised world music album
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    the Thames Delta..
    Posts
    3,191

    Default

    on the box in the background...
    Don't let somebody elses world make yours unhappy...

  9. #9
    Banned
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    7,995

    Default

    That's mad! At work on the monitor there I couldn't see any writing, at home I can though! Guess my colours are bonerd!

  10. #10
    The rehab years
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    2,455

    Default

    Alex Dumble pretty full on and protects his amps/brand/name VERY strongly, if he saw this I'd put a lot of money that he'd go to the ends of the earth to sort these fakes out.

    People selling fakes disgust me, if you've got a product thats good, use your own name, don't pretend to be someone else.

    There is a dumble clone called a "brown box" or "brown sugar", something like that, it's really really good and it trades on being the same voicing as dumble, but clearly states it's based on, but not a dumble.

    Thats how it should be, open an honest, you know exactly where this amp and it's builder are coming from.
    my musicians blog http://www.matthewdarcy.co.uk - I'm also selling a Wampler buffer pedal and a Keeley Fuzzhead

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •